Cedar Lake Protection & Rehabilitation District

39th Annual Meeting Minutes

August 2, 2014

Preliminary Minutes - Subject to approval at 2015 Annual Meeting

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Brad Johnson at 9:05 a.m. on August 2, 2014 at the Town of Star Prairie Town Hall.

Commissioners Present: Brad Johnson, Joe Demulling, Dan Early, Don Demulling, Warren Wood and Dan Davison.

Commissioner Absent: Kent Rebeck

Johnson introduced the Commissioners and also introduced Cheryl Clemens from Harmony Environmental.

Johnson presented the agenda for approval. Motion to accept the agenda as presented by Jim Reckinger, second by Kevin Furlong. Motion carried.

Copies of the 2013 annual meeting minutes were available for attendees. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Larry Larson, seconded by Don Spano. Motion carried.

Cheryl Clemens of Harmony Environmental provided an update on the Lake Plan, its status and its various components. Among other items, she discussed the monitoring for aquatic invasive species at the boat landing, the grant we received from the Clean Boats – Clean Waters program, information on the invasive Japanese Knotweed plant, shoreland buffers and funds available for shoreland plantings, the farmer Led Council and an update of the alum treatment and potential grants. Bob Goodlad introduced Justin Johnson, one of the people who does the boat landing monitoring for invasive species.

Dan Michaelis asked a question regarding the alum treatment being put off until 2016 rather than 2015. Warren Wood stated that there are various issues that need to be cleared up prior to start of the treatment, including issues that have arisen regarding lake district boundaries and the complexity of municipal borrowing.

Election of Commissioners: Ballots were distributed for the election of commissioners with Dennis Cornhill and Dennis Peterson acting as ballot clerks. The terms of Early and Davison are both expiring. Election results were 22 votes for Davison and 19 votes for Early. Davison was elected to a 3 year term and Early to a 2 year term.

Audit Committee Report: Dennis Cornhill and Dennis Peterson of the Audit Committee reported they had examined the checkbook register, bank statements, bills and receipts for the

fiscal year and found that all records are in order. Treasurer Early reviewed the budget for upcoming fiscal year. A motion was made by Kevin Furlong, seconded by Marshall Gifford to approve the budget for the 2014 - 2015 fiscal year.

Public Input and Comments: Mention was made that Bald Eagle Lake in Minnesota had just had their alum treatment done this spring with good initial results. There was a discussion of the substantial weed growth this year and also an early spring fish kill.

Dan Michaelis moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Kevin Furlong. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 10:30 p.m.

The next annual meeting will be held on August 1, 2015 at 9:00 a.m. at the Town of Star Prairie Town Hall or other site to be announced.

Minutes submitted by Dan Davison